Harki Research Group

Welcome to the Harki Laboratory

medicinal chemistry • synthesis • drug discovery
molecular recognition • chemical biology

The Harki Group, February 2016

Members (from left) Dan, Angela, John, Hannah, Chris, Caitlin, Jordan, David, Kellan, and Stephanie.


Postdoctoral Position Available - Chemical Biology


Help Support the Harki Laboratory (Benefunder Website)

Lab News:

September 2016: Alex Ayoub joins the group as a Research Technician. Welcome Alex!

July 2016: Best wishes to Stephanie Breunig as she begins graduate studies in Chemistry at Caltech this fall!

May 2016: Congratulations to Stephanie Breunig for successfully defending her Senior Thesis in Chemistry "Synthesis of APOBEC3 Inhibitors Based on High-throughput Screening Hits, and a New Method for the Formation of [1,2,4]-triazolo-[3,4-b][1,3,4]-oxadiazoles."

April 2016: Congratulations to the following students for winning summer research awards: Jordan Baur (Heisig/Gleysteen Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship, UMN Chemistry), Caitlin Puro (Heisig/Gleysteen Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship, UMN Chemistry - declined; DAAD award for research in Germany Summer 2016), and Hannah Skopec (Melendy/Peters' Summer Research Scholarship, UMN Pharmacy).

March 2016: Congratulations to Stephanie Breunig for receiving an Honorable Mention from the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program!

February 2016: Best wishes to Dr. Maggie Olson and Dr. Nick Struntz as they begin postdoctoral studies. Maggie will pursue postdoctoral research in the Janda laboratory (Scripps) and Nick will become a member of the Koehler laboratory (MIT).

February 2016: Congratulations to Dr. Nick Struntz for successfully defending his Ph.D. thesis "Synthesis of photoresponsive nucleosides and their incorporation into oligonucleotides: Targeting androgen receptor and NF-kB transcription factors"!

October 2015: swnewsmedia.com highlights our work with the Minnesota Breast Cancer Coalition. Click here for story.

October 2015: Welcome to new undergraduate researchers David Cullen and Caitlin Puro!

August 2015: Congratulations to Dr. Maggie Olson for successfully defending her Ph.D. thesis "High-throughput screening and chemical synthesis for the discovery of APOBEC3 DNA cytosine deaminase inhibitors"!

July 2015: Congratulations to Kellan Passow for being selected a Trainee for the NIH Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Grant!

May 2015: Congratulations to Chris Richards for being named a Trainee on the NIH-funded Institute for Molecular Virology Training Program!

May 2015: Congratulations to John Widen for receiving a travel award to the Fall 2015 American Chemical Society National Meeting from the ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry!

May 2015: Congratulations to Stephanie Breunig for receiving a Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) award for the Fall 2015 semester.

April 2015: Congratulations to Stephanie Breunig for winning a 2015 Heisig/Gleysteen Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship from the UMN Department of Chemistry!

Click Here for the Archive of Older Harki Laboratory News Items.